Quick answers
- When does it release?
- September 25, 2026; both Steam and Saikey still showed Coming Soon with no US price on September 18
- Is there a free demo?
- Yes—a free Windows demo released February 18, 2026, but its current Steam app record lists Japanese only
- Is it co-op?
- No—Steam lists single-player; Mitsuki is an in-game companion, not a second human-controlled character
- What is the core loop?
- Gather food, water and materials, improve the shelter, craft tools, train stats and build a boat
- How does escape work?
- The published goal is to attempt a boat journey home; failure can unlock new innovations for another attempt
- What languages are planned?
- English, Japanese, Korean, Simplified Chinese and Traditional Chinese; only Japanese has full audio
The full game is due September 25, and the free demo is playable now
Steam and Saikey Studios both list September 25, 2026 for the Windows release. During this September 18 check, each storefront still showed Coming Soon rather than a purchase option, and neither displayed a US price. The date is supported by a September 4 publisher announcement, but the exact unlock time and regional prices remain unknown.
The Steam page already offers a free demo through a separate app released February 18, 2026. That makes the old page's “demo not confirmed” statement incorrect, but the demo's language and optional patch differ from the announced full-game package and need to be evaluated separately.
| Question | Current answer | Evidence limit |
|---|---|---|
| Full-game date | September 25, 2026 | Steam and publisher date; exact unlock time not stated |
| Full-game status | Coming Soon | No purchase access during this check |
| US price | Not displayed by Steam or Saikey | Regional pricing may appear at launch |
| Steam demo | Free Windows app released February 18 | Scope and save transfer are not documented |
| Developer / publisher | Kumada Gaon / Saikey Studios | Credited by both storefront records |
Gather, craft and manage physical and mental strain
After a storm strands the protagonist and childhood friend Mitsuki Nanami on an island, the immediate tasks are to secure food and water, forage for materials and establish a shelter. Published activities include fishing, hunting, cutting wood and mining. Materials become tools and other survival items, while continued exploration and tasks reveal additional crafting recipes.
Training improves character statistics, and the official description warns against physical or mental overexertion. Screenshots visibly show time, stamina, will and mood indicators, but the sources reviewed here do not define their formulas, depletion rates or failure thresholds. This page therefore explains the system without pretending to have tested optimal daily routes.
| Stage | Player action | Documented purpose |
|---|---|---|
| Explore | Search the island and complete tasks | Find supplies, materials and new opportunities |
| Sustain | Secure food and water | Keep both survivors functioning |
| Harvest | Fish, hunt, cut wood and mine | Collect different resource types |
| Craft | Turn materials into tools and items | Improve survival chances and unlock recipes |
| Build | Create and improve the shelter | Make the island base more useful and comfortable |
| Train | Raise character statistics | Increase the chance of succeeding at later tasks |
Mitsuki's help, relationship growth and escape attempts share the same progression
Mitsuki is an AI-controlled story companion, not a co-op player. The store says her assistance is crucial and that actions at the shelter can deepen the pair's bond. Official screenshots also display health, bond and affection labels, although no numerical relationship thresholds, route count or ending count has been published in the sources reviewed here.
Survival is preparation rather than the final objective. Players eventually craft a boat and attempt the journey back to civilization. The publisher says a failed journey can open new innovations, implying that failure can feed another attempt, but it does not specify exactly what persists or whether the game uses a fixed run structure. Unlocked special moments can later be revisited in a Recollection Room.
| System | Confirmed behavior | Still unknown |
|---|---|---|
| Companion | Mitsuki assists the player's survival | How assistance is selected or controlled |
| Bond | Shelter actions can deepen the relationship | Exact thresholds, branches and ending effects |
| Statistics | Training improves stats | Full stat list and optimal training schedule |
| Boat | Must be built before attempting escape | Required recipes, materials and preparation level |
| Failed escape | Can lead to new innovations | What persists and how the next attempt changes |
| Recollection Room | Replays unlocked special moments | Final event and scene count |
The current demo is Japanese-only and has a separate optional R18 patch
Steam's demo app record lists Windows, single-player and Japanese as its only supported language. By contrast, the full game lists English, Japanese, Korean, Simplified Chinese and Traditional Chinese for interface and subtitles, with Japanese as the only full-audio language. Players who need English or Chinese should not assume those localizations are already present in the demo.
Saikey Studios' product record exposes a separate version 1.1 R18 patch for the Steam demo. That file is hosted by the publisher rather than delivered as part of the default Steam demo, and it should be accessed only by adults through the publisher's age-gated page. No final-game patch is listed yet. Neither Steam nor Saikey states the demo's content cutoff or whether its saves transfer into the paid release.
| Area | Free Steam demo | Full-game listing |
|---|---|---|
| Availability | Free since February 18, 2026 | Coming Soon for September 25 |
| Platform | Windows | Windows |
| Languages | Japanese only | Five interface/subtitle languages |
| Full audio | Not specified separately | Japanese only |
| Optional R18 patch | Version 1.1 link on Saikey's product record | No final-game patch currently listed |
| Content cutoff | Not stated | Not enough information to compare scope |
| Save transfer | Not stated | No transfer guarantee published |
It is single-player and Windows-only, with partial controller support
Steam currently lists only a Windows build and labels the game single-player. Mitsuki's presence and assistance are part of the simulation and story; there is no local co-op, online co-op or multiplayer feature flag. macOS and Linux are not listed on either Steam or Saikey Studios' product record.
The storefront marks Partial Controller Support and specifically advertises DualShock 4 and DualSense support, including Bluetooth flags in Steam's controller data. It does not claim full controller support or Steam Input API integration, so menu coverage, button prompts, remapping and other gamepads require hands-on verification. Achievements, Steam Cloud and Family Sharing are announced store features rather than tested behavior.
| Area | Current listing | Practical boundary |
|---|---|---|
| Windows | Supported | Only listed operating system |
| macOS / Linux | Not listed | Do not assume future ports |
| Multiplayer | Single-player only | Mitsuki is not a second player character |
| General controller | Partial support | Not every screen or action is guaranteed |
| PlayStation controllers | DualShock 4 and DualSense flags, including Bluetooth | Prompts and full menu coverage are not documented |
| Steam Input | No API-support flag | Does not prove community layouts will fail |
| Steam services | Achievements, Cloud and Family Sharing | Store declarations, not independent tests |
The minimum is light, but the listed Windows 7–8.1 versions are obsolete for Steam
The published minimum calls for a 64-bit processor and operating system, Windows 7 through 11, an Intel Core 2 Duo or better, 2 GB RAM, a DirectX 9/OpenGL 4.1-capable GPU and 1 GB storage. The recommended block contains only the generic 64-bit requirement, with no recommended CPU, memory, graphics or storage values.
Valve stopped supporting Windows 7, 8 and 8.1 on January 1, 2024 and says continued Steam functionality on those systems is not guaranteed. Although the game listing still names those versions, Windows 10 or 11 is the practical supported Steam baseline. No resolution, graphics preset or frame-rate target accompanies the hardware list.
| Component | Minimum | Recommended |
|---|---|---|
| OS | 64-bit Windows 7 / 8 / 8.1 / 10 / 11; Steam itself supports Windows 10+ | 64-bit operating system; version not listed |
| Processor | Intel Core 2 Duo or better | 64-bit processor; model not listed |
| Memory | 2 GB RAM | Not listed |
| Graphics | DirectX 9 / OpenGL 4.1-capable GPU | Not listed |
| Storage | 1 GB available space | Not listed |
Sources and verification
First-party sources were checked on September 18, 2026. Store prices and launch details can change after that date.
- Stranded with You on Steamprimary · checked 2026-09-18Supports: release and demo access, survival, crafting, relationship and escape systems, language matrix, controller declarations, official screenshots
- Steam app details for Stranded with Youprimary · checked 2026-09-18Supports: Coming Soon and no-price state, Windows and single-player status, full-game languages, store features and minimum-only requirements, demo relationship
- Steam app details for Stranded with You Demoprimary · checked 2026-09-18Supports: free demo identity, February 18, 2026 release, Windows and single-player status, Japanese-only language record
- Saikey Studios Stranded with You product recordofficial · checked 2026-09-18Supports: publisher Coming Soon state, five full-game languages, gameplay description and trailer, separate version 1.1 R18 demo patch, no final-game patch listing
- Saikey Studios September 25 release announcementofficial · checked 2026-09-18Supports: September 25 release plan, publisher attribution, Steam and Saikey distribution links
- Steam Support for Windows 7 and Windows 8official · checked 2026-09-18Supports: January 1, 2024 end of Steam support, Windows 7, 8 and 8.1 compatibility caveat, Windows 10 or later client guidance


