Verified game brief

Kingdom Rush 6 Release, Demo Status, Towers, Heroes and Modes

Kingdom Rush 6 launches September 24 on PC, Mac, iPhone, iPad and Android; its four-stage Steam demo has ended, while mobile preorders are open.

Source checkedSeptember 18, 2026How we verify
Two heroes and mixed towers defend branching castle paths in Kingdom Rush 6: Genesis

Official Kingdom Rush 6 gameplay screenshots published by Ironhide Game Studio through Steam and visually checked for the pictured battlefields, towers and loadout interface.

Key facts

Quick answers

When does Kingdom Rush 6 release?
September 24, 2026 on Steam, iPhone, iPad and Android
Can I play the demo now?
No—the four-stage Steam Next Fest demo ended July 6
How large is the campaign?
18 stages across three landscapes, with 40+ enemies, five enemy races and six bosses
What is the battle loadout?
Choose five of 15 towers, two of 12 heroes and three of nine spells
Is it multiplayer?
No—Steam lists single-player only; do not confuse it with Kingdom Rush Battles
What does it cost?
Steam has no price yet; the US App Store preorder is $6.99

September 24 covers Steam and mobile, but no console version is announced

Steam, the official game site, Ironhide's September update and Apple's preorder record all point to September 24, 2026. Steam still shows Coming Soon for Windows and macOS with no price, while Ironhide links mobile preorder or registration pages for iPhone, iPad and Android. The US App Store preorder is $6.99; that does not establish the future Steam or Google Play price.

No Linux, PlayStation, Xbox or Nintendo Switch version appears in the current official store links. That is a current platform boundary, not a cancellation claim. The game is single-player; it should not be confused with Kingdom Rush Battles, Ironhide's separate multiplayer tower-defense title.

Kingdom Rush 6 platform and purchase state checked September 18, 2026
PlatformCurrent statusPrice / requirement note
Windows PCComing Soon on Steam for September 24Price not displayed
macOSComing Soon on Steam for September 24Intel Core M or Apple M1 minimum
iPhone / iPadApp Store preorder for September 24US preorder: $6.99; iOS/iPadOS 13+
AndroidOfficial Google Play registration pageFinal regional price and Android requirement not shown here
Linux / consolesNot listed in current official linksNo release claim for these platforms

The four-stage Steam demo ended after Next Fest and is no longer downloadable

Ironhide released a four-stage Steam demo for June's Next Fest, then formally ended access on July 6. Steam's current app record no longer links a demo. The old page's statement that demo availability was unconfirmed missed both the public trial and its removal; old search results or saved demo URLs should not be treated as current download access.

The developer reported more than 25,000 first-day players, a median demo play time of 1 hour 43 minutes and 57% of players staying for more than an hour. Those are Ironhide's event metrics for the limited demo, not our playtime estimate for the 18-stage full campaign. The studio also used demo feedback to revise the interface and progression systems before launch.

What the official demo timeline establishes
QuestionVerified answerBoundary
Was there a public demo?Yes, during Steam Next Fest in June 2026It was time-limited
How much did it include?Four stagesDoes not represent the 18-stage final scope
Is it downloadable now?No; Ironhide ended access July 6Steam no longer links the demo app
How long was it?Developer-reported median: 1h 43mMedian event metric, not a guaranteed completion time
Do demo saves transfer?Not stated in the reviewed sourcesDo not assume transfer after removal

Each stage uses five towers, two heroes and three equipped spells

The full roster contains 15 towers, but only five are brought into a battle. The official site groups their roles around archers, mages, barracks and artillery, making the pre-stage choice about lane control and tower synergy rather than placing every available tower in one map.

Players also choose two heroes from a roster of 12 and combine their abilities during the stage. Nine spells are available overall, with three equipped for a battle; confirmed examples include Reinforcements, Rain of Fire, Royal Edict, Teleportation Sigil, Soaring Shop and Aspect of Sol. The page records the loadout limits without inventing cooldowns, damage values or a best combination.

Full roster versus per-stage loadout
SystemFull selectionTaken into a normal stage
Towers15 upgradeable towersChoose 5
Heroes12 heroesField 2
Spells9 spellsEquip 3
Tower familiesArchers, mages, barracks and artilleryMix roles for lane coverage and synergy
Hero / spell combinationsMultiple ability pairingsExact builds depend on the stage and chosen mode

Demo feedback brought back global tower upgrades before release

The demo used an individual tower-leveling system, but Ironhide's September 11 devlog says that design was removed because players found leveling every tower separately too grind-heavy. The launch plan restores global tower upgrades in the style of the original trilogy. Towers can still unlock a third skill by reaching the top of their upgrade path.

Heroes and spells retain their own levels and upgrade trees. If one falls behind the player's highest-level hero or spell, it earns double experience until it catches up, reducing the cost of changing a loadout. This is a published catch-up rule, but exact XP thresholds, reset costs and final skill values are not documented in the sources reviewed here.

Post-demo progression design
AreaLaunch-direction systemWhat changed or remains unknown
Tower progressionGlobal upgrades returnReplaces the demo's separate tower leveling
Tower skillsA third skill can unlock at the top of a tower pathFinal costs and values not published here
HeroesIndividual levels and upgrade trees remainExact caps and reset rules not stated
SpellsIndividual levels and upgrade trees remainExact caps and reset rules not stated
Catch-up XPUnder-leveled heroes and spells earn double XPApplies relative to the player's highest-level counterparts
InterfaceClassic wood-and-iron styling replaces the demo's blue UIDeveloper says all major screens received the pass

The prequel spans 18 stages, three regions and six boss fights

Genesis travels back to early Linirea and asks the player to rewrite history by stopping a young Vez'nan before darkness takes hold. The campaign revisits lands and characters from the original Kingdom Rush era rather than continuing only from the latest game's endpoint.

The published scope is 18 handcrafted stages across the Citadel, Stormcloud Depths and Arcania. Those maps contain more than 40 enemy types across five races and six major boss fights, with stage-specific mechanics. Steam also advertises more than 50 achievements, but neither source set provides a campaign-hour estimate or a complete achievement list.

Published full-game scope
AreaConfirmed amountInterpretation limit
Campaign stages18Does not include a published hour count
Landscapes3Citadel, Stormcloud Depths and Arcania
Tower roster15Five selected per normal-stage loadout
Hero roster12Two fielded per normal stage
Enemies40+ across five racesNo complete bestiary published in the reviewed sources
Bosses6Boss tactics require release-build verification
Achievements50+Steam achievement details can change before unlock

Five published modes alter heroes, spells, towers, lives and wave structure

The official site names Iron Challenge, Blitz Challenge, Hero Party, Spell Rush and Classic. These are rule variants around the single-player tower-defense campaign, not separate multiplayer queues. Their restrictions make the roster and loadout systems matter in different ways.

Iron compresses play into one elite wave and one life. Blitz uses three waves, faster enemies, increased gold, faster spells and three lives. Hero Party expands the field to four heroes but removes spells; Spell Rush removes heroes, speeds spells and allows three lives. Classic runs the campaign with eight original-style towers, two iconic spells and one hero.

Official challenge-mode rules
ModeCore ruleStrategic change
Iron ChallengeOne elite wave and one lifePlacement and timing must survive a single concentrated attack
Blitz ChallengeThree waves, faster enemies and spells, increased gold, three livesShorter and faster tempo
Hero PartyFour heroes and no spellsHero ability combinations replace spell timing
Spell RushNo heroes, faster spells and three livesTower placement and spell rotation carry the defense
ClassicEight classic towers, two iconic spells and one heroRecreates a more restricted original-game arsenal

Steam supports mouse-only play and partial controllers; Mac requirements are more complete

Steam lists single-player, a mouse-only option, Partial Controller Support, adjustable difficulty, custom volume controls, achievements, Cloud and Family Sharing. Partial support does not guarantee that every menu, prompt or action works without a mouse. The mobile listings promise offline play, but the reviewed Steam record does not separately make the same offline guarantee for desktop.

The game lists ten interface languages—English, French, German, Japanese, Korean, Brazilian Portuguese, Russian, Simplified Chinese, Latin American Spanish and Traditional Chinese—with English as the only full-audio language. Windows publishes only a 64-bit Windows 10, dual-core CPU and 4 GB RAM minimum. macOS adds macOS 10.13, Apple M1 or Intel Core M, OpenGL 3.0 with 1 GB VRAM and 1 GB storage; recommended component targets are absent.

Input, language and offline declarations
AreaCurrent listingBoundary
MultiplayerSingle-player onlyNo co-op or PvP flag
MouseMouse-only optionKeyboard is not required for the advertised option
ControllerPartial supportFull menu and remapping coverage not guaranteed
Difficulty / audioAdjustable difficulty and custom volume controlsStore declarations, not an accessibility audit
OfflinePromised by iOS and Android store descriptionsDesktop offline behavior not separately promised here
Languages10 interfaces; English full audioOther listed languages do not include full voice-over

Sources and verification

First-party sources were checked on September 18, 2026. Store prices and launch details can change after that date.

  1. Kingdom Rush 6: Genesis official game siteofficial · checked 2026-09-18Supports: Steam and mobile store links, tower, hero and spell rosters and loadouts, five challenge-mode rules, 18-stage campaign, official screenshots
  2. Genesis Devlog #28: The Reworkofficial · checked 2026-09-18Supports: removal of separate tower leveling, return of global tower upgrades, third tower skills, hero and spell trees, double-XP catch-up rule, interface redesign
  3. Saying Goodbye to the Kingdom Rush Genesis Demoofficial · checked 2026-09-18Supports: July 6 demo removal, time-limited Steam access, September 24 launch
  4. 25,000 Generals Rushed in On Demo Day Oneofficial · checked 2026-09-18Supports: four-stage demo scope, June Next Fest availability, first-day player count, median playtime and one-hour retention metrics
  5. Kingdom Rush 6: Genesis TD on Steamprimary · checked 2026-09-18Supports: September 24 Coming Soon state, Windows and macOS, single-player and controller/accessibility flags, languages, content scope, official media
  6. Steam app details for app 4259190primary · checked 2026-09-18Supports: no-price and no-demo-link state, desktop platform flags, Windows and macOS requirements, store categories and languages
  7. Kingdom Rush 6: Genesis TD on the App Storeprimary · checked 2026-09-18Supports: September 24 preorder, US $6.99 price, iPhone and iPad support, iOS and iPadOS 13 requirement, offline play, languages
  8. Kingdom Rush 6: Genesis TD on Google Playprimary · checked 2026-09-18Supports: Android listing, mobile offline claim, campaign scope, in-app purchase disclosure, developer identity