Verified game brief

Backrooms Protocol Delay, Demo, 1–4 Player Co-op and Early Access

Backrooms Protocol is still awaiting a new date after missing September 11. Its free three-level demo is solo, while the planned Early Access game supports 1–4-player online co-op.

Source checkedSeptember 18, 2026How we verify
A yellow-suited M.E.G. researcher sits on a wooden chair in a Backrooms corridor

Official gameplay screenshots published by Niche through the Steam storefront.

Key facts

Quick answers

When does Backrooms Protocol release?
No exact date—the September 11 launch was missed and Steam now shows only September 2026
Can I play it now?
Only the free Windows demo; the full Early Access build is not yet available
How many players does it support?
The full game advertises solo or 1–4-player online co-op; no local co-op is listed
What is in the demo?
Three single-player levels presented as an exploration-focused walking simulator
Is the full game free?
Unknown—Steam shows no price; only the separate demo is confirmed free
Platforms and controllers?
Windows only; Steam currently lists no controller-support category

The September 11 date was missed and no replacement day is confirmed

Backrooms Protocol was supposed to launch on August 28, but the developer delayed it by two weeks and announced September 11. On September 11, a second official update said the submitted build had not been approved in time for release and changed the store date back to the broader September 2026 window.

As of September 18, Steam still says Coming Soon, the full game cannot be purchased or reviewed, and there is no exact release day or price. The developer says a new date will be announced after approval. September remains the current store window, not a guarantee that approval or release will happen by month-end.

Official Backrooms Protocol release timeline checked September 18, 2026
DatePublished statusWhat it means now
August 28Original intended launch; delayed that dayNo longer a valid release date
September 11Replacement date announced after a two-week delayAlso missed
September 11 updateDeveloper said the build remained under Steam reviewExact date withdrawn pending approval
September 18 checkSteam shows Coming Soon / September 2026Full game is still unavailable
PriceNot displayedDo not treat the user-applied Free to Play tag as official pricing

The free demo contains three solo exploration levels, not the full co-op loop

The separate Backrooms Protocol Demo released June 15 and is currently downloadable for Windows. Its official description calls it a walking simulator made to showcase the full game's atmosphere and environments, with three different levels to explore. Steam marks the demo as single-player only.

The demo does not advertise online co-op, M.E.G. objectives or hostile-entity survival as part of its stated scope. That wording does not prove those systems are absent from every moment, but it means the trial should be judged as an environment preview rather than a verified sample of the full 1–4-player design. No save-transfer promise or fixed playtime is published.

Demo versus planned full-game scope
AreaFree demoPlanned full game
AvailabilityDownloadable nowNot yet available
Player countSingle-playerSolo or up to 4 players online
FormatExploration-focused walking simulatorObjective-led horror exploration and survival
Published level count3Not stated
Entities / objectivesNot promised by the demo descriptionHostile creatures and assigned objectives are advertised
Save transferNot statedDo not assume demo progress carries over

The full game is online co-op for up to four, with key lobby details still missing

Steam describes the full game as playable alone or with a team of up to four and lists Online Co-op, Multiplayer and Co-op categories. It also discloses in-game chat and online interactivity. No Local Co-op, Shared/Split Screen or Remote Play Together category appears in the current record.

The store does not explain whether sessions use public matchmaking, private lobbies, host migration, join-in-progress, proximity voice or text chat. It also does not publish a crossplay or cross-progression matrix. Because only Windows is announced, this page does not turn the generic multiplayer flags into unsupported platform-network promises.

Current multiplayer declarations and unknowns
QuestionCurrent answerBoundary
Maximum party4 playersPublisher description; not independently tested
Solo playSupportedFull campaign equivalence is not explained
Online co-opListedLobby and matchmaking flow not described
Local / split-screenNot listedDo not assume couch co-op
In-game chatDisclosedVoice, proximity and text behavior not specified
Crossplay / cross-saveNot announcedWindows-only listing provides no cross-platform matrix

Players are M.E.G. researchers completing objectives while surviving hostile entities

The current premise casts each player as a M.E.G. researcher sent into realistic, unsettling Backrooms levels to complete assigned tasks and escape alive. The official copy emphasizes exploration, objectives and survival against creatures across multiple levels; it does not publish a complete mission list, level count, campaign length or progression system.

Steam says creatures may affect the player's mind, but it does not explain whether that is a sanity meter, hallucination system or narrative effect. The mature-content notice confirms chases, player death, frightening liminal spaces, psychological-horror elements and dead bodies. No combat, weapons, crafting or inventory system should be inferred from the horror tags or screenshots alone.

What the official description establishes about play
AreaConfirmedNot established
RoleM.E.G. researcherClasses, loadouts or character progression
Primary tasksExplore, complete assigned objectives and escapeMission count, campaign hours or branching structure
ThreatsHostile creatures in Backrooms levelsComplete entity roster or spawn rules
Mental pressureCreatures are advertised as getting inside your mindExact sanity, hallucination or status mechanics
Combat and gearNot describedNo verified weapons, crafting or inventory loop
Horror contentChases, death, dead bodies and psychological horrorNo claim about gore intensity beyond the store notice

Steam labels the planned launch as Early Access but provides no roadmap or duration

The store says Backrooms Protocol will launch as a work in progress and develop with player feedback. That means the September window refers to an intended Early Access debut, not a finished 1.0 release. It is not currently playable as a paid Early Access product despite the Early Access genre label.

The developer's Early Access questionnaire is blank: there is no published estimate for the phase's length, initial level count, planned 1.0 features, price change or update cadence. Those gaps matter more than the label itself, so buyers should wait for an actual launch build and roadmap if they need a defined content commitment.

Early Access commitments visible on Steam
QuestionPublished answerPurchase implication
Is Early Access live?NoOnly the demo can currently be downloaded
Why Early Access?To develop the work in progress with player feedbackBroad intent, not a feature schedule
Initial contentNot statedNo verified full-game level or mission count
Expected durationNot statedNo 1.0 date or development-length promise
Roadmap / update cadenceNot statedNo published sequence of levels or systems
Price and future changesNot statedNo launch or 1.0 pricing commitment

Windows is the only platform, while controller support is not advertised

The main game and demo currently list 64-bit Windows only. No macOS, Linux, PlayStation, Xbox or Nintendo version is announced in the reviewed official record. Steam lists no Full or Partial Controller Support category, so keyboard-and-mouse expectations and controller coverage need a hands-on test rather than an assumption.

The full game lists 24 interface languages but no full audio or subtitle support. The demo unusually lists 103 interface languages, also without audio or subtitle flags; that broader demo list should not be projected onto the full game. Steam marks the full game playable at your own pace and without timed input, plus stereo and surround sound, but those flags are not a complete accessibility audit.

Platform, input, language and accessibility declarations
AreaFull gameDemo / boundary
PlatformsWindows PCDemo is also Windows-only
ControllerNo support category listedDo not promise gamepad navigation or remapping
Achievements / CloudNot listedNo achievement or Steam Cloud commitment
Full-game languages24 interface languagesNo full audio or subtitle flags
Demo languages103 interface languagesDoes not establish the final release's language set
Timed inputPlayable without timed inputStore declaration, not a tested accessibility review
SoundStereo and surround listedDevice-specific output was not tested

The demo and full game publish different minimum GPUs and storage needs

The full game lists Windows 10, Core i5-8400, 8 GB RAM, GTX 1060 and 15 GB storage as minimum; recommended moves to Windows 10 or 11, a nonspecific Core i7, 16 GB RAM and RTX 2070. Neither tier includes a resolution, frame rate, graphics preset, DirectX version or CPU generation for the recommended i7.

The demo instead asks for a GTX 1650 and 10 GB storage at minimum, with Windows 11 in its recommended tier. These records are not interchangeable: the demo is a three-level environment showcase, while the unreleased full build can still change. The tables preserve the mismatch without guessing which GPU target is an error or a better predictor.

Full-game versus demo PC requirement differences
ComponentFull gameDemo
Minimum OSWindows 10Windows 10
Minimum processorIntel Core i5-8400Intel Core i5-8400
Minimum memory8 GB RAM8 GB RAM
Minimum graphicsNVIDIA GTX 1060GTX 1650
Recommended OSWindows 10/11Windows 11
Recommended CPU / GPUIntel Core i7 / RTX 2070Intel Core i7 / RTX 2070
Storage15 GB10 GB
Publisher-provided PC requirements
ComponentMinimumRecommended
OSWindows 10 (64-bit)Windows 10/11 (64-bit)
ProcessorIntel Core i5-8400Intel Core i7 (generation not specified)
Memory8 GB RAM16 GB RAM
GraphicsNVIDIA GTX 1060NVIDIA RTX 2070
Storage15 GB available space15 GB available space

Sources and verification

First-party sources were checked on September 18, 2026. Store prices and launch details can change after that date.

  1. Backrooms Protocol on Steamprimary · checked 2026-09-18Supports: September 2026 Coming Soon state, unavailable full game and no price, Windows platform, solo and up-to-four-player online co-op, M.E.G. premise, objectives and hostile entities, Early Access state, 24 interface languages, mature content and PC requirements, official screenshots
  2. Steam app details for app 4287480primary · checked 2026-09-18Supports: Coming Soon month-level date, Windows-only flags, linked demo app 4776680, multiplayer categories, play-at-own-pace and no-timed-input flags, stereo and surround sound, languages and requirements
  3. Sorry — September 11 release-delay updateofficial · checked 2026-09-18Supports: September 11 date missed, build still under Steam review, date changed to September 2026, new exact date deferred until approval
  4. Delay and Giveaway as an Apologyofficial · checked 2026-09-18Supports: August 28 intended launch, two-week delay, superseded September 11 date, solo-developer context
  5. Backrooms Protocol Demo on Steamprimary · checked 2026-09-18Supports: free downloadable Windows demo, June 15 release, single-player, three levels, walking-simulator and environment-showcase scope, 103 interface languages, demo requirements
  6. Steam app details for demo app 4776680primary · checked 2026-09-18Supports: free demo type, three-level scope, Windows and single-player flags, language list, GTX 1650 and 10 GB demo minimum