Verified game brief

Apocalypter Release Date, Free Demo Limits, Gameplay and PC Specs

Apocalypter is due September 23 on Windows; its free but outdated demo includes one car, one boss and one save slot.

Source checkedSeptember 18, 2026How we verify
A survivor driving a rusted improvised motorcycle and sidecar across Apocalypter's desert wasteland

Official Apocalypter gameplay screenshots published by SawyerK Games through Steam and visually checked against the game.

Key facts

Quick answers

When does it release?
September 23, 2026; Steam still showed Coming Soon and no US price on September 18
Is there a free demo?
Yes—a free Windows demo released November 18, 2025
What does the demo include?
It is an outdated, smaller build limited to one car, one boss and one save slot
What is the core loop?
Scavenge and trade, survive on the road, customize a mobile base, then fight mutants and warlords
Does it support controllers?
The official feature list limits partial controller support to driving; steering wheels are also listed
What languages are listed?
English only on the current Steam records for both the full game and demo

The full game is due September 23, while the free demo is playable now

Apocalypter's Steam page and live app data list September 23, 2026 for Windows PC. During this September 18 check, the paid game still displayed Coming Soon and no US price. That confirms the current schedule, not an exact unlock time or final regional pricing.

A separate free Windows demo released November 18, 2025. SawyerK Games describes it as an outdated version with much less content, so it is useful for sampling the premise and controls but should not be treated as a current representation of the full launch build.

Release and access state checked September 18, 2026
QuestionCurrent answerImportant limit
Full-game dateSeptember 23, 2026Steam date can still change before unlock
Full-game statusComing SoonNot yet proof of live purchase access
US priceNot displayedRegional pricing may appear at launch
Free demoReleased November 18, 2025Outdated and deliberately smaller than the full game
Desktop platformWindows onlyNo macOS or Linux version is currently listed

Scavenge the wasteland, turn a car into a base and hunt warlords

The published loop combines first-person scavenging with driving and vehicle upkeep. Players search abandoned buildings, wrecks, caves and faction camps for parts and supplies, use roads, landmarks and a compass to navigate an infinite procedurally generated world, and decide whether to fight, help or trade with encountered factions.

Loot supports both the character and the vehicle. Rusted nuts act as currency at merchants with randomized stock, while unwanted items can be sold. The larger objective described by SawyerK Games is to defeat warlords and mount their trophies on the car; no official campaign length, warlord count or map-completion target is published in the sources reviewed here.

How Apocalypter's published systems connect
StagePlayer actionDocumented result
ExploreFollow roads or navigate by compass and landmarksFind buildings, wrecks, caves, camps and bases
ScavengeCollect car parts, weapons, ammunition, healing items and foodBuild survival reserves and equipment
CustomizeInstall and reposition functional or cosmetic car partsImprove mobility, cooling, storage and the mobile base
SurviveEat, collect water, butcher and cookMaintain the character while travelling
TradeSell spare loot and buy randomized merchant stock with rusted nutsConvert scavenged items into needed supplies
FightUse melee weapons and firearms against enemies, mutants and warlordsGain dropped gear and collect warlord trophies

Vehicle building is mechanical, spatial and tied to survival

The official description says car parts are not locked to particular vehicles. Suspension, engines and radiators can be upgraded, while engines, exhausts and radiators can be moved or rotated with a part-adjuster tool. Roof racks, crates and boxes add storage, and the car can carry portable maggot farms, dew collectors and plants as a moving base.

On foot, the character can use melee weapons and guns with different statistics and calibers. Enemies may drop ammunition, weapons or healing items; body armor, backpacks, flashlights and binoculars extend character equipment. Food options include scavenged supplies and butchered meat, but these source-backed systems do not establish final balance, crafting depth or difficulty.

Documented customization, survival and combat systems
SystemOfficially described examplesWhat remains unverified
Vehicle performanceSuspension, engine and radiator partsFinal part counts and performance balance
Part placementMove and rotate engines, exhausts and radiatorsPlacement restrictions in the launch build
Mobile storageRoof racks, crates and boxesMaximum carrying capacity
Mobile productionMaggot farms, dew collectors and plantsProduction rates and upkeep
Character gearArmor, backpack, flashlight and binocularsUpgrade tiers and final progression depth
Combat suppliesWeapon and ammo drops, bandages and first-aid kitsDrop rates, enemy balance and boss difficulty

The demo has one car, one boss and one save slot

SawyerK Games explicitly labels the demo an outdated build with much less content. Its published limits are one car, one boss and one save slot. Those boundaries are more useful than presenting the demo as an unspecified slice, but they do not reveal the full game's final car, boss or save-slot totals.

The demo is a separate free Steam app and has lighter requirements: 6 GB minimum memory, an 800 MB storage listing and a dual-core CPU floor. The full game raises those values to 8 GB memory, 2 GB storage and a quad-core CPU. Steam does not state whether demo saves transfer, so players should assume no transfer guarantee until the developer confirms one.

Free demo versus the current full-game listing
AreaFree demoFull game
Build statusExplicitly described as outdatedCurrent launch listing
CarsOneMore than the demo implied; final count not stated
BossesOneWarlords and boss fights listed; final count not stated
Save slotsOneFinal save-slot count not stated
Minimum memory6 GB RAM8 GB RAM
Storage800 MB2 GB
Save transferNot statedNo transfer guarantee published

Controller support is driving-only, and Steam currently lists English only

The full-game feature list describes partial controller support for driving only and separately lists steering-wheel support. The demo app carries Steam's Partial Controller Support category, while both app records include a keyboard-only option. These declarations do not show which wheel models, gamepads or button-remapping scenarios work at launch.

Both the paid app and demo currently list English as their only supported language. Steam also marks custom volume controls, stereo sound, play without timed input and save anytime. Those are useful store declarations, but they are not an independent accessibility audit and should not be expanded into claims about subtitles, text size, color settings or full input remapping.

Current language, input and store-declared accessibility information
AreaCurrent listingPractical boundary
LanguageEnglish onlyNo additional interface, subtitle or audio language is listed
KeyboardKeyboard-only optionMouse requirements and remapping coverage are not documented by the category
ControllerPartial support; official text limits it to drivingOn-foot play should not be assumed controller-ready
Steering wheelSupport listed by the developerCompatible hardware and force-feedback behavior are not specified
PacingPlayable without timed inputStore declaration, not an independent test
SavingSave anytimeDoes not establish demo-to-full-game transfer

The full game lists a GT 1030 minimum and GTX 1070 Ti recommendation

Apocalypter's current minimum calls for 64-bit Windows 10 or 11, a 3 GHz-plus quad-core CPU, 8 GB RAM, a GeForce GT 1030 or AMD equivalent, DirectX 11 and 2 GB storage. The recommended tier raises the processor to eight cores, memory to 16 GB and graphics to a GTX 1070 Ti or AMD equivalent.

Steam does not attach a resolution, graphics preset or frame-rate target to either tier. The developer's 2025 demo announcement mentions learning about optimization while building the demo, but that is not a benchmark or a promise that the launch build will perform a particular way.

Publisher-provided PC requirements
ComponentMinimumRecommended
OS64-bit Windows 10 or 1164-bit Windows 10 or 11
Processor3 GHz+ quad-core processor3 GHz+ eight-core processor
Memory8 GB RAM16 GB RAM
GraphicsNVIDIA GeForce GT 1030 or AMD equivalentNVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 Ti or AMD equivalent
DirectXVersion 11Version 11
Storage2 GB available space2 GB available space
Sound CardDirectX-compatible sound cardDirectX-compatible sound card

Sources and verification

First-party sources were checked on September 18, 2026. Store prices and launch details can change after that date.

  1. Apocalypter on Steamprimary · checked 2026-09-18Supports: release state and free demo access, car, survival, combat, exploration and trade systems, demo content limits, controller and steering-wheel scope, official screenshots
  2. Steam app details for Apocalypterprimary · checked 2026-09-18Supports: September 23 Coming Soon state, price and Windows platform state, English language listing, store categories and PC requirements, demo app relationship
  3. Steam app details for Apocalypter Demoprimary · checked 2026-09-18Supports: free demo identity and November 18, 2025 date, Windows and English-only status, partial controller category, demo accessibility categories and system requirements
  4. SawyerK Games Apocalypter demo announcementofficial · checked 2026-09-18Supports: demo public release, Mad Max-inspired direction, factions, mutants, weapons, trading and procedural world, relationship to The Slaverian Trucker